Knee Deep in the Hoopla

Some short thoughts:

Tom Izzo isn’t going anywhere.  Not to Oregon, not to the Nets, not anywhere. 

I’m not running against Scott Brown in 2012 either.  Get over it.

I think there’s another financial crisis looming unless some real reforms are done quickly.  No stall tactics anymore. 

Mitch Albom is still a jerk.

Funny how Bart Stupak went from the defender of life to “Baby Killer” because he voted for Health Care Reform.

Those who question anyone’s patriotism even if they oppose him should be repudiated. 

Tigers – 89-73…second place to Minnesota.  No playoffs.

I don’t like anyone running for Governor at this point.  And I know one of them personally.

How can Michigan State be so good in basketball, but so bad in football?

Bob Seger.  Name the date.  I’m there.

Sad to see the demise of newspapers.  Free Press and News haven’t been the same since the strike in the mid 90’s.  That’s what killed them, not the internet and cable tv.

My niece, Bianca, has three wonderful kids.  And a terrific husband.  I’m still not for marriage.  It ruins too many lives and shatters too many friendships.

Kid Rock is still a jerk.

The academy awards don’t do anything for me anymore.  They have become a big deal about very little.

The best thing about Facebook.  Reconnecting with old friends.

The worst thing about Facebook. FarmVille.

You will never see another show on TV like “Lost.”  Whether you like it or understand it, the story is epic. 

I can still watch “Sienfeld” anytime, anywhere and laugh.

Why is Dick Cheney still talking?

The problem today is there’s too much “money” out there, but noone seems to have any.

In my lifetime, I have lived in America’s great crumbling city.  In less than a decade Detroit will become the first “Ghost City”.

Bates Burgers still rock. Anyone remember the great Bentley-Stevenson fight?

Favorite cities: Chicago, Sydney, Dublin, Melbourne.

I miss my grandfather and my friend’s dad.  And my dog Brutis.

I have enjoyed my 30-plus years in disabled sports.  Some of the people, that’s another story altogether.

Even though the academy awards sucked this year, I really enjoyed Jeff Bridges winning.

Johnny Carson could come back from the dead and Jay Leno would go away forever.

My Table Tennis coach is 80 and still playing.

ESPN is fast becoming like MTV.  No longer relevant.

The one thing that I hope happens in the next couple of years is the hate and rancor die out and we can all get back to sloving problems instead of blaming each other.

Life matters.  Everyone does.

8 Responses to “Knee Deep in the Hoopla”

  1. leslie Says:

    Wow Kent. Some thought provoking ideas. My favorite is the one about MSU. Good point. And the one about Farmville!

  2. Diana Says:

    Oh crap! This is SOOO appropriately titled. I LOVE it!!!

  3. Diana Says:

    But you know what? MSU is not so bad in football. I had one of the best days of my life last October at the MSU v UM game. Yeah, I know it ain’t much, but what a HIGHLIGHT!

  4. rollingwheelie Says:

    Diana, i’m referring to the off-the-field problems. but yes, they are improving on the field. Still can’t beat my Chippewas, though.

  5. Lynette Says:

    Oh great…now I can also read your opinions, rants..etc….dont I HEAR them enough?

  6. Rob Says:

    I totally agree with several comments. Love the Johnny Carson one!

  7. leslie Says:

    What’s wrong with Mitch Album?

Leave a Reply

