What Really Matters

Lets see, I’m supposed to give a crap about Bruce Jenner “transitioning,” Tom Brokaw’s cancer, Savannah Guthrie’s return to Australia and some Kardashian doing something. Also, whether Tom Brady is the ass we’ve always known him to be, or just a victim of circumstance.

I just…don’t. These people have more money than they know what to do with and in the meantime, the shitheads in Washington want to cut my benefits and Medicaid? Or end it altogether?  For what? What the heck did I do to deserve this? Answer me that, all you people who will feel it eventually, too.

Look Tom, we all get old, we all get sick and we all die of something.  Not all of us have the resources at our disposal to go to the Mayo Clinic or Sloan-Kettering or have the best Dr.’s on speed dial.  Or have a daughter who’s a top Doctor in San Francisco.  It just goes to show the difference between the haves and have-nots.

Nor do I really care about Bruce Jenner or his step-daughters or his transitioning. There are millions who do this every damn day, but do they get an interview with Diane Sawyer?  Jenner’s moment of glory came in 1976.  Why are we still paying attention to him? Because he married OJ Simpson’s best friend’s widow? Or that he’s a “reality” TV “star”?  Or that he has a cadre of step-children that Agnes Nixon couldn’t have thought up in her wildest “All My Children” stories? Is that why we pay attention to a has-been?

No, we pay attention because we are told to. That, even in the 700-channel, a niche for everyone, world of info-tainment, where the news is skewered and no-one believes anything anymore, unless the hear it from this place or that place, when we are told to watch something, most do.

You want to know what I care about? My family. The people who look after me, my friends.  I care about their kids and problems. Sure I know rich people, but the majority of folks I know are just living day-to-day. None of us are promised anything beyond this moment.  These are the people i’m supposed to care about, not the others.

I happened to watch the Brokaw “special” and was nonplussed by it. People get cancer every day. One thing I do know, is that you never survive cancer. It always comes back.  Life is too short to worry about other people’s dilemmas and problems.

Take care of yourself and look after those around you. Pay attention to what is going on in the world and hear your friends and family when they need you.  I have been reminded of that in more ways than one this week.  And not from Tom Brokaw, Savannah Guthrie or Bruce Jenner, either.

4 Responses to “What Really Matters”

  1. Dan Riley Says:

    Re: “whether Tom Brady is the ass we’ve always known him to be”
    We, Kemo Sabe?

  2. rollingwheelie Says:

    Yes, Loyal Friend.

  3. Robert C. Quinn Says:

    Kent,

    Thank you.This apparently is not one of your happier weeks. I hope your morale is somewhat better soon.

    Bob

  4. rollingwheelie Says:

    My morale is fine. It’s my “b.s.” meter that’s off the needle.

Leave a Reply

