Tell me what is being done in my name, part the infinity.

In December 2004, I moved. The place I was living at, informally, asked me to leave. So, with a little help from their social worker, I moved. Years later, I found out what they did was illegal, but hey, by then it was too late to take the matter to court.

I moved into an apartment building and was given an apartment on the sixth floor with a faulty elevator system. Really. My parents came by once and the lifts weren’t working, so they climbed up six flights to visit with me. Fortunately, the staff at the property was looking out for me, unlike at my previous place, and got me out of that ridiculous situation a few months later. I have lived in my current home for over 11 years.

Why do I mention this? Because its important to what’s going on here in the country today. I mention this because, as I try and tell people, what happens in Washington and Lansing and every state capitol, happens to me first, but will happen to you as well.

Wednesday night, the Federal Budget was released. That is it a joke in and of itself and was drawn up by an acolyte of Grover Norquist is no surprise. It is cruel and contradictory to everything America is supposed to stand for. It eliminates funding for PBS and NPR. “This budget is short-sighted, cruel to the point of being sadistic, stupid to the point of pure philistinism, and shot through with the absolute and fundamentalist religious conviction that the only true functions of government are the ones that involve guns, and that the only true purpose of government is to serve the rich,” says Charles Pierce at Esquire.

This is the “feed the rich, screw the poor,” budget drawn up by the Heritage Foundation and Mike Mulvaney, who makes David Stockman look like Albert Schweitzer by comparison.  It cuts “Meals on Wheels,” a $3 million a year program that provides the disabled and seniors at least one ‘square’ meal a day. It makes Stockman and his boss, St. Ronnie of Dementia, look like Sargent Schriver and Lyndon Johnson, for Pete’s sake.

There are so many draconian cuts to this budget, I’m shocked that it was even printed on paper. Perhaps the most nonsensical cut was to the State Department, where 30% of the cuts are being made. From ABC News:

“The president’s vision is to add $54 billion to military spending and cut the State Department and U.S. Agency for International Development by 28 percent. “There is no question this is a hard power budget, it is not a soft power budget,” the president’s budget director, Mick Mulvaney, told reporters Wednesday. “The president very clearly wanted to send a message to our allies and our potential adversaries that this is a strong power administration, so you have seen money move from soft power programs, such as foreign aid, into more hard power programs.” While Mulvaney described the cuts to the State Department as “fairly dramatic,” he said the country’s core diplomatic functions will not be impacted by the cuts, which he said are focused on reducing foreign aid. “That is not a commentary on the president’s policies toward the State Department, that is a comment on the president’s policies toward what is in their budget,” he said. “The foreign aid line items just happen to fall in State.””

Oh good. This president wants to be seen as a tough guy. A man who never served in the military, but went to military school and “knows more than the Generals.” A man who wants to win wars like when he was young. Except he received four deferments from Vietnam for “flat feet.” Yeah, OK, buddy.

Also, Paul Ryan, the zombie-eyed, granny starver who (still) wants to be President someday, said the following to National Review’s Rich Lowery:

“So Medicaid, sending it back to the states, capping its growth rate. We’ve been dreaming of this since I’ve been around — since you and I were drinking at a keg. . . . I’ve been thinking about this stuff for a long time. We’re on the cusp of doing something we’ve long believed in.”

These guys are worse than Marmalard and Neidermeyer at Omega. I thought Norquist was bad, but these guys are sadists, and that’s being kind.

Of course, there is a rebuttal, from, naturally, a Kennedy. Joseph P. Kennedy III, to be exact. From the Boston Globe:

 “I was struck last night by a comment that I heard made by Speaker Ryan, where he called this repeal bill ‘an act of mercy.’ With all due respect to our speaker, he and I must have read different Scripture…The one I read calls on us to feed the hungry, to clothe the naked, to shelter the homeless, and to comfort the sick. It reminds us that we are judged not by how we treat the powerful, but by how we care for the least among us. There is no mercy in a system that makes health care a luxury. There is no mercy in a country that turns their back on those most in need of protection: the elderly, the poor, the sick, and the suffering. There is no mercy in a cold shoulder to the mentally ill. This is not an act of mercy. It is an act of malice.”

That’s Robert F’s grandson, Jack’s great-nephew. Had Rosie Greer been where he should have been in the Ambassador Hotel Kitchen on June 4, 1968, he might have been the grandson of a second President Kennedy.

I can just hear it, “I didn’t for for this,” from Trump voters. Well, yes you did. You voted for this when you voted for Reagan, when you voted for both Bushes, when you voted for the Tea Party guy because Obama. You voted for this for the last 36 years. Or, allowed this to happen.

Which brings it all back to the beginning. When I moved into my current home (a townhome, completely accessible), I was eligible for a home heating credit because I paid a gas bill. Every May, I would get real money back from Consumers Energy, one year, it might have been $375. On a fixed income, that’s a lot of money. But then, in 2011, the state changed the rules and fixed it so there would be no checks written, unless there were “special circumstances.” Then they went about rigging the system. In 2014, the most brutal winter of my life, I was still on the budget plan and paying a fixed rate every month. Come May 2015, after filing my Home Heating Credit with the state, I was informed that Consumers couldn’t cut me a check, but the $140 would be credited to my account. Of course, from June until October, there’s no need for heat in Michigan, but they still find a way to charge $16 a month for using 0.2 meters of gas. I dropped out of the budget plan after that go-around.  One of the important things wide-load Donny wants to cut is the Federal Home Heating Credit, which, among other things, would raise my rent by about $20. You say, “I didn’t vote for that. I wanted him to ‘drain the swamp.’ And ‘Lock Her Up,’ and kill Keith Olbermann.”

Well, you voted for him, not me. Don’t worry about me, I’ll just wither away and die. After all, I’m a burden.

And if you believe that, you voted for Trump.

2 Responses to “Tell me what is being done in my name, part the infinity.”

  1. Karen Garnica Says:

    Kent, I think of you each time the little fascist and his friends make horrific changes for their benefit. I know how difficult it is to live on so little. And I also know how much $20 a month can mean to someone who doesn’t have much. I can’t tell you how appalled I am by the changes that are being made. It seems one party is hell bent on destroying everything good and kind about our nation. This is not the America I loved anymore. Karen

  2. Steve Zecker Says:

    Well put, Kent. The only positive I have taken from the past two months is that Cheetolini has jumped so far off the rails that even some of the normally lockstep GOPers recognize what a disaster is awaiting us if we buy into his thinking and policies. We can only hope that in the months to come even more of them will decide to be patriots rather than politicians and speak out for what is right.

Leave a Reply

